India - Men's hockey team

The India men’s national field hockey team was the first non-European team to be a part of the International Hockey Federation.
In 1928, the team won its first Olympic gold medal and until 1960, the Indian men’s team remained unbeaten in the Olympics, winning six gold medals in a row. The team had a 30–0 winning streak during this time, from their first game until losing in the 1960 gold medal final. India also won the 1975 World Cup. India’s hockey team is the most successful team ever in the Olympics, having won eight gold medals. India emerged as champions at the games in 1928, 1932, 1936, 1948, 1952, 1956, 1964, 1980.India also has the best overall performance in Olympic history with 76 victories out of the 123 matches played.
The men in blue is also one of the most successful team in Asia. They have won the Asian Games three times in the year 1966, 1998 and 2014. India came out on top in the Asia Cup in 2003, 2007 and in 2017. They are also the most successful team in the Asian Champions Trophy by winning the competition three times in 2011, 2016 and in 2018. The team has also won the Champions Challenge once and the Sultan Azlan Shah Cup five times.

Read More About India - Men's hockey team

Lists containing India - Men's hockey team :

Winners of Hockey World Cup

Cover Image For List : Winners Of Hockey World Cup

Hockey World Cup Winners: The Hockey World Cup is an international field hockey competition, organized by the International Hockey Federation (FIH). This competition was started in 1971. Apart from the Men’s World Cup, the Women’s World Cup is also organized which started from 1974. Do you know that the Hockey World Cup was first conceived…