Golconda Fort

The Qutb Shahi dynasty ruled the Golconda Sultanate in south India from 1518 AD to 1687 AD. The Qutb Shahis were descendants of Qara Yusuf from Qara Qoyunlu, a Turkoman Muslim tribe. After the collapse of Bahmani Sultanate, the “Qutb Shahi” dynasty was established in 1518 AD by Quli Qutb Mulk who assumed the title of “Sultan”. In 1636, Shah Jahan forced the Qutb Shahis to recognize Mughal suzerainty. The dynasty came to an end in 1687 during the reign of its seventh Sultan Abul Hasan Qutb Shah, when Mughal Emperor Aurangzeb seized Golconda fort and occupied the kingdom. The kingdom extended from the parts of modern day states of Karnataka, Andhra Pradesh and Telangana. The Golconda sultanate was constantly in conflict with the Adil Shahis and Nizam Shahis.The Qutb Shahis were great patrons of persianate Shia culture, eventually it also adopted the regional culture of the Deccan (Telugu culture, language and the newly developed Deccani dialect of Urdu). Although Telugu was not their mother tongue, the Golconda rulers spoke and wrote Telugu, and patronized Telugu so exclusively that they were termed the “Telugu Sultans”. The Qutb Shahis were known for their secular rule.

Read More About Golconda Fort

Lists containing Golconda Fort :

Leave a Reply