England and Wales Cricket Board

The England cricket team represents England and Wales in international cricket. Since 1997, it has been governed by the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB), having been previously governed by Marylebone Cricket Club (the MCC) since 1903. England, as a founding nation, is a Full Member of the International Cricket Council (ICC) with Test, One Day International (ODI) and Twenty20 International (T20I) status. Until the 1990s, Scottish and Irish players also played for England as those countries were not yet ICC members in their own right.
England and Australia were the first teams to play a Test match (15–19 March 1877), and along with South Africa, these nations formed the Imperial Cricket Conference (the predecessor to today’s International Cricket Council) on 15 June 1909. England and Australia also played the first ODI on 5 January 1971. England’s first T20I was played on 13 June 2005, once more against Australia.
As of 17 August 2020, England have played 1,028 Test matches, winning 374 and losing 305 (with 349 draws). In Test series against Australia, England play for The Ashes, one of the most famous trophies in all of sport, and they have won the urn on 32 occasions. England have also played 751 ODIs, winning 378. They have appeared in the final of the Cricket World Cup four times, winning once in 2019; they have also finished as runners-up in two ICC Champions Trophies (2004 and 2013). England have played 126 T20Is, winning 64. They won the ICC T20 World Cup in 2010, and were runners-up in 2016.
As of 2 December 2020, England are ranked fourth in Tests, first in ODIs and first in T20Is by the ICC.

Read More About England and Wales Cricket Board

Lists containing England and Wales Cricket Board :

ICC One-Day Cricket WorldCup Winning Teams

Cover Image For List : Icc One-day Cricket Worldcup Winning Teams

Cricket World Cup Winners: The ICC Cricket World Cup is the international championship of One Day International cricket. The tournament is organized every four years by the game‘s governing body, the International Cricket Council (ICC). The tournament is one of the most watched sporting events in the world, behind only the FIFA World Cup and…

Leave a Reply