Cricket Austrailia

The Australia men’s national cricket team represents Australia in men’s international cricket. As the joint oldest team in Test cricket history, playing in the first ever Test match in 1877, the team also plays One-Day International (ODI) and Twenty20 International (T20I) cricket, participating in both the first ODI, against England in the 1970–71 season and the first T20I, against New Zealand in the 2004–05 season, winning both games. The team draws its players from teams playing in the Australian domestic competitions – the Sheffield Shield, the Australian domestic limited-overs cricket tournament and the Big Bash League.
The national team has played 830 Test matches, winning 393, losing 224, drawing 211 and tying 2. As of May 2020, Australia is ranked first in the ICC Test Championship on 116 rating points. Australia is the most successful team in Test cricket history, in terms of overall wins, win-loss ratio and wins percentage.
The team has played 955 ODI matches, winning 579, losing 333, tying 9 and with 34 ending in a no-result. As of September 2020, Australia is ranked fourth in the ICC ODI Championship on 109 rating points, though have been ranked first for 141 of 185 months since its introduction in 2002. Australia is the most successful team in ODI cricket history, winning more than 60 per cent of their matches. Australia have made a record seven World Cup final appearances (1975, 1987, 1996, 1999, 2003, 2007 and 2015) and have won the World Cup a record five times: 1987, 1999, 2003, 2007 and 2015. Australia is the first (and only) team to appear in four consecutive World Cup finals (1996, 1999, 2003 and 2007), surpassing the old record of three consecutive World Cup appearances by the West Indies (1975, 1979 and 1983) and the first team to win 3 consecutive World Cups (1999, 2003 and 2007). The team was undefeated in 34 consecutive World Cup matches until the 2011 Cricket World Cup where Pakistan beat them by 4 wickets in the Group stage. It is also the second team to win a World Cup (2015) on home soil, after India (2011). Australia have also won the ICC Champions Trophy twice (2006 and 2009) making them the first and the only team to become back to back winners in the Champions Trophy tournaments.
The national team has played 130 Twenty20 International matches, winning 68, losing 57, tying 2 and with 3 ending in a no-result. As of May 2020, Australia is ranked first in the ICC T20I Championship on 278 rating points. Additionally, the team made the final of the 2010 ICC World Twenty20, in which they lost to England.
On 12 January 2019, Australia won the first ODI against India at the Sydney Cricket Ground by 34 runs, to record their 1,000th win in international cricket.

Read More About Cricket Austrailia

Lists containing Cricket Austrailia :

ICC One-Day Cricket WorldCup Winning Teams

Cover Image For List : Icc One-day Cricket Worldcup Winning Teams

Cricket World Cup Winners: The ICC Cricket World Cup is the international championship of One Day International cricket. The tournament is organized every four years by the game‘s governing body, the International Cricket Council (ICC). The tournament is one of the most watched sporting events in the world, behind only the FIFA World Cup and…

Leave a Reply