Calcutta Stock Exchange

The Calcutta Stock Exchange (CSE), located at the Lyons Range, Kolkata, India, is the oldest government owned stock exchange in Asia. It was founded on 1 December 1863 by sixteen of Calcutta’s leading stockbrokers, beginning its work in rented premises at 11 Strand Road. It was reconstituted in its current form in 1908, and is the second largest bourse in India. The Calcutta Stock Exchange has been asked to exit by SEBI, but the matter is sub judice before the Calcutta High Court; thirteen other regional stock exchanges have closed in the last three years under SEBI’s exit policy, including thr Bangalore Stock Exchange, the Hyderabad Stock Exchange and the Madras Stock Exchange. Since 2013, there has been no trading on the CSE trading platform.

Read More About Calcutta Stock Exchange

Lists containing Calcutta Stock Exchange :

26 Nationalized Market Exchanges of India

Cover Image For List : 26 Nationalized Market Exchanges Of India

Note- All nationalized market exchanges, operational and non-operational, have been included in this list.