Australia - Men's hockey team

The Australia men’s national field hockey team (nicknamed the Kookaburras) is one of the nation’s most successful top-level sporting teams. They are the only Australian team in any sport to receive medals at the last six Summer Olympic Games (1992–2012). The Kookaburras placed in the top four in every Olympics between 1980 and 2012; in 2016, the Kookaburras placed sixth. They also won the Hockey World Cup in 1986, 2010 and 2014.
The Kookaburras’ inability to win an Olympic gold medal despite their perennial competitiveness, led many in the Australian hockey community to speak of a “curse” afflicting the team, finally broken in 2004 with the win in Athens.

Read More About Australia - Men's hockey team

Lists containing Australia - Men's hockey team :

Winners of Hockey World Cup

Cover Image For List : Winners Of Hockey World Cup

Hockey World Cup Winners: The Hockey World Cup is an international field hockey competition, organized by the International Hockey Federation (FIH). This competition was started in 1971. Apart from the Men’s World Cup, the Women’s World Cup is also organized which started from 1974. Do you know that the Hockey World Cup was first conceived…

Share via
Copy link